Sharon Cullen’s His Saving Grace

Today, to celebrate the New Year of 2015, I have Sharon Cullen visiting with her latest release His Saving Grace – a fabulous Victorian England story that is on the top of my to be read pile! The lure of a tortured hero is always an emotionally driven story! Take a peak! 

9780553391572

 

His Saving Grace

For months now, Lady Grace Ashworth has mourned the death of her beloved husband—until the day a very-much-alive Michael arrives at her front door. It’s nothing less than a miracle. However, Grace soon realizes that this Michael isn’t the same man who left for the Crimean War. She’s stunned to learn that he has suffered a devastating head injury. Putting all her own desires aside, Grace resolves to devote herself to Michael’s recovery and to love him no matter what troubles may come.

Convinced that his wife is wasting her time on a broken man, Michael attempts to shield Grace from a life of inconvenience by driving her away. But Grace will have none of that. Despite every obstacle Michael throws in her path, she stubbornly soldiers on, fighting not only for their marriage but for the love they once shared. In the end, will her determination alone be enough to save Michael from the darkness that threatens to consume him?

 

 Excerpt

He launched his cane across the room. It hit the upright mirror and shattered it. The explosion of glass was loud and utterly satisfying. He looked at the broken pieces scattered across the floor, reflecting the sunlight as it shone through the window and bounced off the walls. He stared at the shards and couldn’t help but think how ironic it was. He could pick up those pieces and attempt to glue them back together. He might even succeed in matching the pieces that were once the mirror, and fitting all of them back in the frame. But the mirror would never be the same. It would still show the cracks. It wouldn’t reflect his image the way it used to. It would look like a mirror and, in some ways, perform like a mirror. But it wasn’t a mirror anymore. Not really.

Just like he wasn’t Michael John Ashworth anymore. Not really.

 

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh, Sharon Cullen’s captivating novel tells the deeply emotional tale of two devoted lovers facing the ravages of war. 

 

Praise for His Saving Grace

“Cullen writes an emotional and unique story about a couple’s journey to salvation. . . . Recommended for historical romance readers who appreciate feel-good, emotionally substantial, ‘love conquers all’ tales.”Library Journal

“Cullen has marked herself as an author to watch.”Publishers Weekly

“Heart-wrenching and full of real emotion, proving that love is always the answer, His Saving Grace is the best book I’ve read this year!”USA Today bestselling author Bronwen Evans

 

sharon blk and whiteIIIAbout Sharon

 

Sharon Cullen is the author of The Notorious Lady Anne, Loving the Earl and Pleasing the Pirate. She’s also published in romantic suspense, paranormal romance and contemporary romance.

 

Her other job descriptions include chauffer, laundress, cook and mediator to her three very busy kids, her husband and two dogs. She lives in southwest Ohio with her brood although her dream is to someday retire to St. Maarten and live on the beach.

If you’d like to find out more about Sharon and her books, you can visit her website. She’s addicted to social networking so you can find her on Facebook and Twitter. Friend her! Like her! Follow her! She’d love to hang out with you and talk about her passion—books.

Buy Links

Amazon   Barnes and Noble   iBooks

Sharon’s Social Media Links

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/SharonCullenAuthor

Twitter – @SharonCullen

Website – http://sharoncullen.net

 

 

 

Great & Unfortunate Desires

 

03_Heart3 wt with date-1

Spies & love in The Great War

We tend to think of the war with Afghanistan as a recent occurrence, brought by the war against terrorism that has run at full hilt since 9/11. And when I wrote Great & Unfortunate Desires, the opening takes place in Afghanistan during war, c. 1870. This seemed to confuse some of my friends, thinking I was trying to put the story in slant with today’s headlines. Yet, the war in Afghanistan is over 200 years old…

I watched the latest of the Sherlock Holmes movies and there is a reference to Dr. Holmes having served in the British military during the war in Afghanistan. That intrigued me but my first foray into research indicated the conflict there in the early part of the 19th century, in which Great Britain, hungry to expand her empire and hoping the land north of India would prove as great a find as India herself. But war in the Middle East for western Europeans proved a disaster. Interesting yes, but before the time period for Sherlock Holmes.

Then a good friend of mine mentioned The Great War. This is another attempt by Great Britain in the Middle East to conquer, only this time, the rules were different. Czarist Russia was also in an expansion mode and wanted the riches of India, which was still under British control and as a jewel in her empire crown, the English weren’t about to lose India. So Afghanistan became the battleground for these two large empires. Referred to as The Great War, both sides infiltrated the country with spies set among the tribes of Afghanistan as a way to route out where their opponent was, what strength they had and if they’d gained any support. The price for the people of Afghanistan was high during this power siege and left them embittered, making both England and Russia regret their tactics as both countries still today have issues with the lands north of India.

But this war also feeds the mind of a writer and the result is the espionage and intrigue that plagues Tristan, the Marquis of Wrenworth and his quest for revenge. But his past as a spy will also threaten the one woman he loves in Great & Unfortunate Desires.

Tell me – do any movies or books compel you to learn more like I did with the Sherlock Holmes line? Best comment wins an ebook copy of Tristan & Evelyn’s tale.

GinaDanna_Great&UnfortunateDesires_2500pxA

Great & Unfortunate Desires

 

Afghanistan, June 1868

 

The blade slid inside the skin with ease, like butter. Blood, deep red, seeped around the steel, spilling downward. The victim helped force the weapon into his own flesh, but as the sword sliced into the organs beneath, his hand dropped lazily. The muted gasp of pain, barely audible from the man kneeling before him, registered in the killer’s ears.

Tristan St. James stood, his hand on the hilt of the sword, every nerve inside him on fire. Appalled at what he had been forced to do, he fought against showing his anguish. If there was a Hell, it was here, on Earth, right now in front of him. His vision blurred.

The man before him, Grifton Reynard, looked hard at him. As his robes turned crimson, he gagged and blood dripped from the corner of his mouth.

“Promise me you’ll take care of her,” he gritted out. “Promise me!”

“I promise. And I will find the bastard who did this,” Tristan hissed, his voice low and angry.

His friend gave a tense nod. He coughed a rattling noise as he choked, blood spewing like a geyser from his mouth. It hit Tristan on his face, adding to the stream from his own wound there, and staining the cream and maroon-trimmed cotton of his robes. But it didn’t matter. He couldn’t move, his feet firmly glued to the hard dirt surface. Grifton fell backward, his body thudded against the ground, eyes open but no longer seeing, his mouth askew, his lips and chin covered in his blood.

The sword fell free and hit the ground with a clank, as if it’d hit a rock.

His best friend, and his subordinate in this awful war of intrigue, lay dead before Tristan, by his hand. A pain–deep, gut wrenching and as violent as the act he’d just committed–seized his chest, strangling his heart. Swallowing hard, he shut his eyes for just a moment, an attempt to subdue the pain, to deaden it.

Unable to leave Grifton there, he bent and grabbed the man’s arms, yanked him up and threw him over his shoulder. The lifeless body hung like a sack of grain. Not that Tristan cared. No, his mind was assessing, reassessing and analyzing the material in his head. Like the cold-blooded killer they had made him, he narrowed the field of suspects who could have orchestrated this. Someone with everything to gain and more to lose if it failed.

He’d find out who had betrayed him and his men, the man responsible for their deaths, and kill him.

Amazon   Barnes & Noble     Kobo    iBook    Scribd

All the authors participating in the Romance Adventure Blog Hop – Click & enjoy!

  1. Liza O’Connor
  2. Daryl Devore
  3. Jennifer Lowery
  4. Andrea R Cooper
  5. Melissa Keir
  6. Karen Lopp
  7. Aine P Massie
  8. Gaeille Vanderspek
  9. Joceline Farrah
  10. Jenna Jaxon
  11. Gina Danna
  12. Melissa Kendall
  13. Sharon Cullen
  14. D’Ann Lindun
  15. Nikki Lynn Barrett
  16. Tricia L. Quinnies
  17. Lisa Kumar
  18. Georgia Lyn Hunter
  19. Sheri Fredricks
  20. Susan Sheehey
  21. Aleah Barley
  22. Stacey Brutger
  23. Bobbi Romans